Excel User Group
Microsoft Excel blogs, forums, files. Read, ask questions, provide answers.

How to create a game schedule

Latest post Thu, Sep 9 2010 11:11 PM by Ian_T. 1 replies.
  • Mon, Aug 31 2009 10:36 PM

How to create a game schedule

I am not an expert at Excel (casual use for a few years making simple reports) but I've taken on a task of creating a spreadsheet showing the game schedule for teams in our club.

This spreadsheet is a tab in a workbook that keeps track of scores and stats. I'll describe the best I can.

We have a different number of teams per month, ie month 1 might have 9 teams, month 2 might have 20 teams, etc. Team names are all listed in another tab so these formulas can reference another tab to find out how many teams are registered for this month.

Each team only pays 5 games therefore not all teams play all other teams.

So there will always be 5 columns to generate but not always the same number of rows.

One catch is, if team 1 plays team 3 then the row for team 3 must have team 1 in it.

Each team only plays another team once.

This is an example of monthly schedule with 8 teams.

Team               

Team 1  plays   Team 2      Team 3      Team 4      Team 5      Team 6

Team 2    "       Team 1      Team 4      Team 5      Team 7      Team 8

Team 3    "       Team 4      Team 8      Team 1      Team 6      Team 7

Team 4    "       Team 1      Team 3      Team 2      Team 6      Team 8

Team 5    "       Team 1      Team 2      Team 8      Team 6      Team 7

Team 6    "       Team 1      Team 3      Team 4      Team 5      Team 7

Team 7    "       Team 2      Team 3      Team 5      Team 6      Team 8

Team 8    "       Team 2      Team 3      Team 4      Team 5      Team 7

As you can see it doesn't matter which teams play against each other as long as each team gets 5 games so the more random the better.